Why I stopped saying sorry

Written for feminist blog Zusterschap, which I co-run and edit with my good friend Catstello.

Elton John was wrong; sorry seems to be the easiest word.

I’ve been apologising for my existence since 1992. I apologised to a lady in boots three times the other day after she asked if I wanted a bag. She thought I was insane.

I apologised to a guy who walked into me in Asda and he just gave me a dirty look. I apologised to a woman who was in my way as I was discussing with my dad the idea of not saying sorry so much anymore.

I don’t know where this compulsion came from but I fear I caught it from my vader. One of his favourite sayings is “politeness makes the world go round.” He’s uber polite and now I think about it, my mum is, too.

However, I seem to be the only one who frantically apologises whenever any type of conflict occurs, be it an argument with a friend or a slight nudge into a stranger on the street.

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve noticed that no-one else does this, bar a few. In fact, people don’t seem to apologise even when they’re in the wrong.

I decided to stop saying sorry this week because I applied for a job that demands leadership skills. I asked myself the following questions:

Read the rest here

